Think mulitmedia and Social Media

15 02 2009

If you are new to being fully engaged in social media (like me) then I would recommend that you read a new free ebook, Brink, by the Principal of SHIFT Communications and the author of the blog PR Squared, Todd Defren. Defren explains the importance of using of Social Media in Public Relations campaigns in order to engage with customers. Starting on the first page, Defren clearly defines the difference between old and new PR, which are separated by their use of social media. Old PR: “Only unhappy customers are particularly vocal.” New PR: “But in an online world, a company can been seen and noticed as being responsive, even by non-customers.”

I particularly enjoyed the case study about the “Neat Company”, which makes a portable scanner. The initial target audience was businesspeople who are always on the go and looking for the next best convenience. However, because of SHIFT’s close relationship with a techie blogger who moved to Martha Stuart Omnimedia in the middle of their pitch, the Neat Company was featured in Martha Stuart. While reading this case study I was probably just as surprised as the rest of the SHIFT employees to hear that Martha Stuart was interested in the portable scanner. This case study is the the perfect example of the importance of relationship building in public relations through social media. Communication with a blogger resulted in a feature in Martha Stuart, #1  on Amazon, and a whole new audience for the scanner that SHIFT probably would have never known about, “mommybloggers”.

Another very important part of using social media as a tool in public relations campaigns is to always be engaged in the conversation. I love his letter to a CEO who is interested in blogging because I also think that aspects of it work as a letter to any person who is interested in blogging for the first time. If you are interested in blogging, Defren suggests that you begin by not blogging. “Instead, spend that time following OTHER blogs in your industry. Read them. Comment judiciously. Leave your “agenda” on the coat-rack. Just get to know a few folks. Introduce yourself.”

As students, it’s probably okay to jump into it and learn as we go. But, the important thing is that you learn as you go. I have only had my blog for a little over a month now, and as you may have noticed, I have started slowly by only writing a handful of entries in that time. The reason for my slow start is because I am a sponge right now, taking in information and the blogging culture from the 27 blogs that I read on a daily basis, the books and ebooks that I am reading, and the twitter conversations with which I am engaged.

This is difficult for me to say since I have worked very hard during my college career in the past three-and-a-half years, but I have learned more about public relations through social media in the past 42 days than I have learned in my entire college career. At Cal Poly I only have two public relations teachers, but on the Internet I have an infinite number of teachers that range from Public Relations professionals to CEO’s and from students to college professors. I urge you to take advantage of all the resources that are available to you. As Defren says many times in Brink ENGAGE in the conversation. It will benefit you now as you are a student and it will benefit you later when you become a public relations professional.

Actions

Information

One response

16 02 2009
Reggie Greene / The Logistician

You’re correct. It’s a whole new world, and your generation will take us to places which we never considered perviously. Let’s hope that you will recognize the mistakes of the past, particularly those brought on by our Baby Boomer generation. You may be interested in the efforts on our part to share with your generation our perspective gained by our experience and mistakes.

Leave a Reply

