President Obama’s Social Media Campaign Research Paper

11 02 2009

I am going to write an anylitical paper for my english class about President Obama’s use of social media tools in his presidential campaign. Here is the proposal for my paper that I gave to my professor:

“President Obama was able to successfully reach out to millions of Internet savvy users and join our blogosphere discussions. He understood the blogger language and culture and tactfully emerged his campaign into our society. Few politicians have attempted to use social media to benefit their campaigns, and those who have used it have been unsuccessful. Why has social media not worked for politicians in the past? The answer is obvious to us bloggers and social media fanatics who spend countless hours-a-day in the blogosphere, they didn’t reach out to us on our level. Politicians joined our society expecting that we would stop our conversations and join theirs – when we bloggers all know it should be the other way around. The problem is however, that politicians do not understand that the social media norms are completely different than industrial media norms. Obama understood the difference; he engaged himself in our conversations; he treated us as equals.

President Obama’s social media campaign was very detailed and involved many layers: text messages, emails, blogs, twitter, youtube (viral videos), and an online support community (my.brackobama.com), just to name a few. I would like to research and analyze each of the social media tools that Obama’s campaign used. Although I know a lot about this topic because I was emerged in his social media campaign, I have not yet taken the time to step back and view the campaign after the election.

As a Journalism major concentrating in Public Relations and an avid social networker, this topic is very relevant and interesting to me. Upon my graduation in June, I plan to begin a career in Technology or Digital Public Relations at a Public Relations Agency. My hope and expectation for this report is to gain a better understanding of how social media is used in political campaigns and relate that understanding to technology companies. The essence of a political campaign is no different than a public relations plan for a company. Both have a common goal, which is to build a relationship with their constituents or consumers. “

Now, can you help me out a little bit with my research? I have a few sources so far, but can you please leave a comment or send an email to me if you know of any good case studies or articles that I could use to assist my researc? Thank you so much!

Here is a good case study that I found by Paul van Veenendaal, SMM Wizard & Author of viralblog.com 


 


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

