Twitter is actually useful!

7 02 2009

#pradvice @collegejourn #entrypr @prsajobcenter — Do those look familiar to you? They should look familiar if you are a PR college student. They are discussions and people on “Twitter”. If you don’t have a Twitter account becuase you don’t understand the importance of it, I completely understand; I have been there.

I opened an account about a year ago because people in the PRSSA told me I should be on it,  but I never understod why it was so great. “Who in the world cares that just I ate a banana?” I thought. Recently however, Twitter has proven to ba a valuable resource for me. In the past few weeks, I have received more advice and information about Public Relations than I could have ever imagined. People constantly post links to websites with professional development tips and with articles that explain and predict media trends (very useful for us pr college students to stay informed). 

Twitter is also very useful directly with the reply (@), discussion (#), and direct message (DM) functions. A few days ago I discovered that our speaker for the PRSSA meeting next week fell through. I posted an update on Twitter asking anyone for advice about fast meeting topics with the #pradvice tag. Within an hour I received multiple responses from people who both gave me meeting topic ideas and who even offered to be our speaker! I was amazed and delighted! I never realized how helpful Twitter could be if it is used in the right way.

Go to www.search.twitter.com and join some of the discussions:

  • #pradvice
  • #prpro
  • #entrypr
  • #printern
  • #collegejourn
  • #journchat

Also, follow people who tweet about PR type things. Here are a few of my favorite:

I also follow some news/blogs that are great for PR, tech, and media:

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

