“Google Yourself”

15 01 2009
Have you ever tried to “Google yourself” to see what comes up? First of all, how far down do you have to look to find yourself? I’m second on the list as of now, and my goal is to be first. What appears for you? Is is your facebook or myspace? How appropriate are your profiles? Before you add anything to your public profile, you need to be comfortable with sharing it with a recruiter, boss, professor, family member, or anyone else who uses the Internet. You shouldn’t be afraid of adding any of the previously listed people to your social networking profiles because the use of it is just that, networking. If you do not already know, your public profiles will be viewed when you are applying for a job, especially in Public Relations. As a student studying to become a public relations practitioner, we need to always keep our image in mind. A company will only be comfortable with putting their image in your hands when they know that you have a good image as well. 

I know I am not the most savvy when it comes to new media. People are constantly telling me about which social networking websites and new media websites I need to join, but I honestly cannot keep up with everything. I have condensed what I use to only a few websites, but I am trying to build a larger Internet presence, which is a big reason why I started this blog. In my opinion, there is only one must have profile for a student, Linkedin. Here are a few sites that I am a member of and I enjoy using:

Linkedin – http://linkedin.com/in/epoeschl
This is your professional profile that is basically an online resume. You can add information about your education, work experience, personal websites, and projects your are currently worked on or have complete. A really great resource on linkedin is the recommendations section. Here, people from past or current jobs or internships can write short recommendations. This is very helpful for when recruiters look at your profile. Make sure to always keep you profile and connections updated.

Facebook –
Most of you probably already have a facebook, but how many are work appropriate? That doesn’t mean that you need to take out all of your personality. Your Facebook profile should show your personality. You already have a Linkedin as your professional networking profile, so feel free to have fun with Facebook. As a caveat, you may want to forget about including those incriminating pictures from Friday night in which paraphernalia were used. It always surprises me when I see people who advertise their smoking habits, beer bong chugs, and keg stand contests. Private or not, people have ways to view your entire profile. You should be comfortable with anyone viewing what you put on the internet.

Twitter – http://twitter.com/epoeschl
This is a tool that I am still learning and recently using. If you have a Facebook then you know about the status updates. Twitter is a website that is devoted to just status updates. It sounds a little pointless, and that is what I thought for a long time, but twitter is great for well, keeping updated. It sounds a little stocker-like, but the point is to follow what people are “tweeting” about. You can follow friends, journalists, bloggers, newspapers, celebrities, blogs, companies, etc. I’ll keep working with it and let you know what I learn.

Blogger-
I recently started this blog so that I have my own personal blog, but I have been co-managing the Cal Poly PRSSA blog for about a year now under the username epoeschl. Having a blog is not something for everyone, but it is a good way to practice your writing, share your knowledge, and put yourself out there. Try to link your blog to other websites to that it becomes visible. I’m working on that right now. 

These are just a few websites that I use, but people have also suggested that I be a member of a photo sharing website like photobucket or flickr. I don’t have a camera or take pictures, so I don’t really see the point. Another extremely popular website is of course youtube. If you enjoy vlogging (or video blogging), it may be a good idea to create a profile on youtube so that you can upload your videos and create a following there. It really depends on your interests. Have fun with whatever you do on the Internet and let your personality shine, but also make sure that you are comfortable sharing whatever you do on the Internet.

If you have any suggestions of websites that I didn’t mention please leave a comment and share!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

